Kuwait Visa Policy

About Kuwait Visa Policy

Kuwait's visa regulations specify the requirements, procedures, and guidelines for foreign visitors entering the country. Nearly all nationalities need a visa to travel to Kuwait and gain entry. Depending on your nationality as well as the purpose and duration of your trip, you may qualify for either an electronic visa or a visa upon arrival, as per Kuwait's visa policy.

The Kuwait visa policy permits electronic visa (e-Visa) applications for approximately 52 countries at present. Upon approval, the visa is delivered to the applicant via email, following a quick online application process.

While certain countries permit visitors to apply for visas upon arrival at border checkpoints, this often involves enduring lengthy immigration queues. As a result, it is advisable for travelers to secure eVisas through the online application process to expedite the procedure. It's important to note that the Kuwaiti visa policy mandates all visitors, except for those from other Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) nations. 

Kuwait Tourist e-Visa Guidelines

Kuwait's visa policy provides three avenues for granting visas to foreign tourists: traditional visas, visas on arrival, and electronic visas obtained through an online application.

Approximately 53 nationalities worldwide are eligible to secure a tourist eVisa by applying online and receiving an approved electronic visa via email. Holders of this visa are permitted to visit Kuwait for up to 90 days for tourism, regardless of their mode of arrival, be it by air, land, or sea.

For those not eligible for eVisas, we advise tourists to apply for visas before their departure. The application process for this visa category typically entails submitting additional documents to the embassy along with the visa application. For more comprehensive information on Kuwait tourist e-Visa, please continue reading Kuwait Travel Information.

Kuwait Electronic Visa (eVisa) 

Introduced by the Kuwaiti government in 2016, an electronic visa (eVisa) is now accessible to citizens from approximately 53 nations globally through an online application form. The Kuwait eVisa, implemented for tourism purposes, is a single-entry visa allowing a 90-day stay in Kuwait for those arriving by air, sea, or land.

Applicants applying online are required to complete a straightforward form providing personal, passport, and travel details. Additionally, an image of the traveler's passport biographical page must be submitted. The passport used for the application must have a validity of at least six months from the intended arrival date in Kuwait.

Upon approval, the eVisa is electronically linked to the passport, granting the holder a 30-day entry window into Kuwait. Online services typically process Kuwait visas within 1 to 3 business days.

For individuals from eVisa countries wishing to spend more time in Kuwait, engage in business, or pursue work or studies, obtaining the appropriate visa type is necessary. A comprehensive list of countries requiring an eVisa for travel to Kuwait is provided below. Apply for a Kuwait eVisa now.

Kuwait Visas On Arrival 

Visitors arriving in Kuwait by air can acquire a visa on arrival at the immigration checkpoints. Presently, only citizens of Eswatini (Swaziland) are obligated to obtain their Kuwait visas on arrival.

While certain nationalities are eligible for both on-arrival and online visas, it is advisable for these individuals to secure a Kuwait eVisa in advance to bypass potential lengthy queues at the border.

The Kuwait visa-on-arrival is a single-entry travel permit implemented for tourists only, allowing a maximum stay of 90 days. Swazi citizens need to proceed directly to the border checkpoint to obtain their on-arrival visa for Kuwait and then await processing in the immigration queue.

Applicants must complete a form with personal and passport details, and a fee must be paid upon arrival before the visa can be granted. The list of countries whose residents are presently required to obtain a visa on arrival in Kuwait is provided below, with Swaziland being among the nations eligible for this service.

Additional Details For Kuwait Visas

As per Kuwait's existing visa regulations, citizens from five countries are not required to obtain a Kuwait visa. The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) member nations, namely Bahrain, Oman, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates (UAE), enjoy visa-exempt status in Kuwait.

Under Kuwait's visa policy, individuals from these GCC countries can enter Kuwait without a visa and stay for an unlimited duration, provided they present a valid GCC ID card at any entry checkpoint. While Kuwait does not offer visa-free entry to GCC citizens, those from GCC nations have the option to apply for an eVisa to simplify the application process.